All about Books, Book review

Book Review: Unravelling by Helen Forbes

Today I’m excited to share a book that made me glad I was a book blogger. There are so many books out there making it easy to miss some gems but because of the invite to the blog tour of Unravelling by Helen Forbes I found one.

Book Review: Unravelling by Helen Forbes

Book cover: Unravelling by Helen Forbes
Unravelling by Helen Forbes

Title: Unravelling

Author: Helen Forbes

Publisher: Scolpaig Press

Genre: Crime, Psychological thriller

Release Date: 15th July 2021

Purchase: UK https://amzn.to/3hDz8EJ / US https://amzn.to/2XqDZlU

Blurb

A forest of secrets 

Two bodies are found buried in a Highland forest, a place that haunts the dreams of Kate Sharp. Her mother, Ellen, died when Kate was a child. Does the forest hold the secret to her death? 

A secret journal 

Kate discovers her mother’s journal, and the tale of a tragic unravelling begins to unfold. Ellen’s story is one of fear and hope, love and loss, set against the imposing background of Craig Dunain, a psychiatric hospital where she should have been safe.  

Unravelling the truth 

Someone else from Ellen’s past is searching for answers, and he will stop at nothing to find them. Unaware of the danger stalking her, Kate continues her search. Will she find the answers? And can she save her own life?  

Beautifully written, cleverly plotted, and meticulously researched, Unravelling is a captivating tale of family secrets. 

My Thoughts

This is a book with depth and soul. While I was reading Kate’s story as she grieves for her grandmother, and discovers secrets from her mum’s past, I tried to pinpoint what the theme of this novel was. Was it a crime, thriller or family drama? When I began Ellen’s story it hit me, it’s all of those things but fundamentally it is the story of a mother and daughter and the bond that exists between them even when they are separated by grief and time.  

It was Ellen’s story which focuses on her time in Craig Dunain, the psychiatric hospital that changed my view that this was a 4 star book; I would have to give it a 5. It captivated me with the characters, deep insight into Ellen’s mind when she suffers from episodes of schizophrenia and paranoia, and the atmosphere of the hospital. It felt real and made an emotional impact on me.

The tension increased as the secrets of the past were revealed and people from the past collide with the present.  I couldn’t put it down.

Would I recommend?

Oh yes. Unravelling is an emotional, immersive and powerful thriller with an authentic voice that gives an insight into schizophrenia and life in an institute. Ellen and her world will forever be in my heart and influence how I see things in the future.

The topics of trauma, PTSD, and abuse are dealt with sensitively, but they are impactful so if you are a reader that these maybe a trigger I would avoid.

Author Biography

Author Helen Forbes
Helen Forbes

Crime fiction was not what lawyer, Helen Forbes, expected to write.  As a single parent and mature law student, she used her limited spare time to write contemporary and historical fiction.  It was a chance remark at a writing club that led her to develop a short story into her debut crime novel, In the Shadow of the Hill, featuring DS Joe Galbraith. The novel is set in the Scottish Highlands and Islands, and it was described in one newspaper review as having ‘more twists and turns than the road to the isles, making it impossible to put down.’  The novel and characters proved popular with readers, leading to the publication of a second book in the DS Joe Galbraith series. Madness Lies is set in Inverness and North Uist.  Helen has now taken to crime with a passion, and has published two psychological thrillers. Unravelling is set in Inverness, against the background of a former psychiatric hospital. Deception is set in Edinburgh, and tackles the themes of domestic violence, prostitution and trafficking. Helen has also completed a further thriller set in Edinburgh, which she hopes to publish in 2022. Queen of Grime’s main character is a crime and trauma scene cleaner with a big secret. It is gritty and dark, but also funny and uplifting. Helen hopes to expand Queen of Grime into a series.

Social Media Links –

Facebook Author Page https://bit.ly/3mzghfD

Twitter https://twitter.com/foreva48

Website https://www.helenforbes.co.uk/

Thank you Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to this tour and providing an advanced copy for me to review and give my honest and unbiased opinion.

Love

Blogs on this tour

All about Books, Book review, The Enchanted Emporium's Bookshelf

Book Review: Sleep Tight by C.S Green

It seems ages since I have read a crime novel series but the tagline of Sleep Tight by C.S Green and the cover drew me in. The blurb made me want to read, scroll down to see if my high expectations were met.

Book Review: Sleep Tight by C.S Green

Book Cover Sleep Tight by C.S Green

Title: Sleep Tight

Author: C.S Green

Publisher: Harper Fiction

Release date: 4th March 2021

Blurb

The nightmare is only just beginning…

When DC Rose Gifford is called to investigate the death of a young woman suffocated in her bed, she can’t shake the feeling that there’s more to the crime than meets the eye.

It looks like a straightforward crime scene – but the police can’t find the killer. Enter DS Moony – an eccentric older detective who runs UCIT, a secret department of the Met set up to solve supernatural crimes. Moony wants Rose to help her out – but Rose doesn’t believe in any of that.

Does she?

As the killer prepares to strike again, Rose must pick a side – before a second woman dies.

Twisty, original and compelling, SLEEP TIGHT is perfect for fans of Alex North and Cara Hunter.

My Thoughts

Usually if a book gives me a chill, I’d say it made me leave the light on all night, but with this one it was a case of drinking vast quantities of coffee before bed to prevent sleep. Not only so I could binge read it to the end, but because I did not want to witness the nightmares of the victims. They were horrifying and the emotions believable, making it worse.

The combination of a classic crime procedural novel and the paranormal gave this an unusual twist and allowed C. S Green to experiment with the method and motivation for a locked room murder. It’s clever, well written, and the suspense kept me turning the pages, as did the wonderful characterisation of DC Rose Gifford and Mack. Haunted by the past and the secret she holds, Rose is determined to keep that side of her away from her job as a police officer, but the weird nature of the murders means things get out of her control. Her battle with her desire to keep her life grounded in the rational and the need to face the illogical to solve the crime was a joy to read.

As the first book in the series, there were plenty of threads and hints of backstory to latch on to which make me want to read on beyond this one. As much as I wanted to know who had done it, I didn’t want Sleep Tight to end.

Would I recommend?

Yes, this is an original and creepy crime thriller blended perfectly with the supernatural. C. S Green is an author to watch, and I now face the frustrating wait to read the next one. I can’t wait to catch up with Rose Gifford again and see where this series takes me.

Author Biography

Author C.S Green

C.S Green is the pseudonym for Sunday Times and ebook bestseller Cass Green. Her debut adult novel The Woman Next Door was a No.1 e-book bestseller and her second, In A Cottage, In A Wood was a Sunday Times top ten and USA Today bestseller. Don’t You Cry was her third standalone thriller. She is the Writer in Residence at East Barnet School and teaches crime fiction at City University and children’s fiction for Writers and Artist’s Yearbook.

Social media:

Twitter: @carolinesgreen

Website: carolinegreenwriter.co.uk

Facebook: Caroline Green Author

Instagram: carolinegreen70

Once you have read this book you will understand why it is one of Amber’s favourites and recommended from The Enchanted Emporium’s bookshelf

Thank you Harper Fiction for the advanced copy so I could review and give my honest and unbiased opinion.

Happy reading and take care!

Love

All about Books

It is all about Soulmates Part 2: Book Review for The One by John Marrs

This is the second book I have read recently about finding a soulmate. Whereas The Soulweaver had a traditional spiritual take on the idea, John Marrs has taken a scientific approach.

The One by John Marrs

This book had been on my TBR for a while but I was on a long reservation list at the library. Finally, I received a copy but then I was reluctant to open it. I had heard the good reviews and did not want to be disappointed if I felt it did not deserve the hype surrounding it.  I have been bitten a few times like that. The first time I heard about The One was an interview with John Marrs on Simon Mayo’ s Book Club . The idea of finding your soulmate via genetics was fascinating and tantalising close to reality. I love psychological thrillers as a genre so it needed to be read.

 

The One cover
The One by John Marrs

 

Blurb

How far would you go to find THE ONE?

One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for.

A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people meet their Match. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

My thoughts

My concern about this book not deserving the buzz surrounding it was unfounded. The One is a stunning, fast-paced thriller following five people as they meet the person their DNA dictates is the person they belong with. Each person has taken the test for different reasons, are in different circumstances and the results lead them to deal with different consequences. It is well written and leaves you asking the question “Would you take the test?”. It is a warning of what our future may hold with the rising trend for online dating and genetic discoveries.

Would I recommend?

Definitely. Buy, beg or borrow a copy and book a day off to curl up in a comfy chair to enjoy.

Have you read it?Let me know what you thought below.

Happy reading!

 

[instagram-feed]