All about Books, Book review, The Enchanted Emporium's Bookshelf

Book Review: Sleep Tight by C.S Green

It seems ages since I have read a crime novel series but the tagline of Sleep Tight by C.S Green and the cover drew me in. The blurb made me want to read, scroll down to see if my high expectations were met.

Book Review: Sleep Tight by C.S Green

Book Cover Sleep Tight by C.S Green

Title: Sleep Tight

Author: C.S Green

Publisher: Harper Fiction

Release date: 4th March 2021

Blurb

The nightmare is only just beginning…

When DC Rose Gifford is called to investigate the death of a young woman suffocated in her bed, she can’t shake the feeling that there’s more to the crime than meets the eye.

It looks like a straightforward crime scene – but the police can’t find the killer. Enter DS Moony – an eccentric older detective who runs UCIT, a secret department of the Met set up to solve supernatural crimes. Moony wants Rose to help her out – but Rose doesn’t believe in any of that.

Does she?

As the killer prepares to strike again, Rose must pick a side – before a second woman dies.

Twisty, original and compelling, SLEEP TIGHT is perfect for fans of Alex North and Cara Hunter.

My Thoughts

Usually if a book gives me a chill, I’d say it made me leave the light on all night, but with this one it was a case of drinking vast quantities of coffee before bed to prevent sleep. Not only so I could binge read it to the end, but because I did not want to witness the nightmares of the victims. They were horrifying and the emotions believable, making it worse.

The combination of a classic crime procedural novel and the paranormal gave this an unusual twist and allowed C. S Green to experiment with the method and motivation for a locked room murder. It’s clever, well written, and the suspense kept me turning the pages, as did the wonderful characterisation of DC Rose Gifford and Mack. Haunted by the past and the secret she holds, Rose is determined to keep that side of her away from her job as a police officer, but the weird nature of the murders means things get out of her control. Her battle with her desire to keep her life grounded in the rational and the need to face the illogical to solve the crime was a joy to read.

As the first book in the series, there were plenty of threads and hints of backstory to latch on to which make me want to read on beyond this one. As much as I wanted to know who had done it, I didn’t want Sleep Tight to end.

Would I recommend?

Yes, this is an original and creepy crime thriller blended perfectly with the supernatural. C. S Green is an author to watch, and I now face the frustrating wait to read the next one. I can’t wait to catch up with Rose Gifford again and see where this series takes me.

Author Biography

Author C.S Green

C.S Green is the pseudonym for Sunday Times and ebook bestseller Cass Green. Her debut adult novel The Woman Next Door was a No.1 e-book bestseller and her second, In A Cottage, In A Wood was a Sunday Times top ten and USA Today bestseller. Don’t You Cry was her third standalone thriller. She is the Writer in Residence at East Barnet School and teaches crime fiction at City University and children’s fiction for Writers and Artist’s Yearbook.

Social media:

Twitter: @carolinesgreen

Website: carolinegreenwriter.co.uk

Facebook: Caroline Green Author

Instagram: carolinegreen70

Once you have read this book you will understand why it is one of Amber’s favourites and recommended from The Enchanted Emporium’s bookshelf

Thank you Harper Fiction for the advanced copy so I could review and give my honest and unbiased opinion.

Happy reading and take care!

Love

All about Books

It is all about Soulmates Part 2: Book Review for The One by John Marrs

This is the second book I have read recently about finding a soulmate. Whereas The Soulweaver had a traditional spiritual take on the idea, John Marrs has taken a scientific approach.

The One by John Marrs

This book had been on my TBR for a while but I was on a long reservation list at the library. Finally, I received a copy but then I was reluctant to open it. I had heard the good reviews and did not want to be disappointed if I felt it did not deserve the hype surrounding it.  I have been bitten a few times like that. The first time I heard about The One was an interview with John Marrs on Simon Mayo’ s Book Club . The idea of finding your soulmate via genetics was fascinating and tantalising close to reality. I love psychological thrillers as a genre so it needed to be read.

 

The One cover
The One by John Marrs

 

Blurb

How far would you go to find THE ONE?

One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for.

A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people meet their Match. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

My thoughts

My concern about this book not deserving the buzz surrounding it was unfounded. The One is a stunning, fast-paced thriller following five people as they meet the person their DNA dictates is the person they belong with. Each person has taken the test for different reasons, are in different circumstances and the results lead them to deal with different consequences. It is well written and leaves you asking the question “Would you take the test?”. It is a warning of what our future may hold with the rising trend for online dating and genetic discoveries.

Would I recommend?

Definitely. Buy, beg or borrow a copy and book a day off to curl up in a comfy chair to enjoy.

Have you read it?Let me know what you thought below.

Happy reading!

 

[instagram-feed]